All content of this website is copyright by Mid-South Horse Review and may not be copied or reprinted without express written consent of the publisher and editor

Call Us: (901) 867-1755

The Mid-South Horse Review is available at over 350 locations throughout Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Arkansas and Kentucky.
December issue is now available!


Hobart Ames Memorial


The 2019 Hobart Ames Memorial Field Trial began January 14, 2019 with the All-Age Stake, followed by the Derby Stake. A preliminary field trial to the National Championship, there were quite a few National Championship veteran dogs in the running and 30 dogs in all competing in the All-Age Stake. The action got going on a chilly, cloudy Monday (in the 40s), followed by more chilly days (in the 40s), with a few brief glimpses of sun on Wednesday.

Randy Anderson had several dogs running in the All-Age Stake: Hush Money and Valient, owned by Jay McKennzie; Touch’s Spaceman, owned by Matt Griffith; Touch’s Blackout  and Touch’s Adams County, owned by Ric Peterson; Aberdeen’s Paid In Full owned by Matt Griffith; and Lester’s Jazz Man, owned by Dan Hensley.

Steve Hurdle handled Game Bo for Dr. Fred Corder; Stardust Chaz for the Craigs, John Sayer and Scott Kermicle; Southern Cross Bandilla for Edwin Gott; Motorcity Rock Star for Paul Tutro; Button Up for Julie Roach; Coldwater Thunder for Doug Arthur and Rachel Blackewell; and Blackhawk’s Diana for Larry Esterline.

Larry Huffman had several dogs in the All-Age running: Las Animas Fancy, owned by Dale Bush; Whippoorwill Mayhem, owned by Ric Peterson; Whippoorwill Justified, owned by Ronnie Spears; Misty Morn Masked Man, owned by Joey McAlexander; Game Sport, owned by Earl Connolly; Whippoorwill Assault, owned by Jim and Stephanie Bickers; and Whippoorwill Blue Blood, owned by Keith Wright.

Betty Shearhouse ran her Shearjoy’s Unforgiven.

Weldon Bennett handled Coldwater Odyssey for Debra and Andrew Agnew; Coldwater Spectre for Gary McKibben; and Coldwater Stoner for Dr. Lee Butler.

Matt Cochran handled his Whippoorwill Forever Wild.

Larry Smith ran his two dogs: SF Saltwater and SF Stetson.

David Williams handled his three dogs: Rebel Dreamer, Rebel Maiden, and Rebel Survivor.

Winners of the Hobart Ames Open All-Age, announced Wednesday January 16, 2019 were:

1st: Whippoorwill Justified, owned by Ronnie Spears; handled by Larry Huffman
2nd: Valiant, owned by Jay McKenzie and handled by Randy Anderson
3rd: Coldwater Thunder, owned by Doug Arthur; handled by Steve Hurdle

There were 26 Derby entries, which started on Wednesday, January 16, including these “new kids on the block.” They were:

Billy Blackwell’s Ransom’s Jack Flash, handled by Steve Hurdle
Keith Wright’s Touch’s Grey Street and Touch’s American Doll, handled by Ike Todd
Dale Bush’s Las Animas Hombre, handled by Larry Huffman
Randy Anderson’s Touch’s Fire Away, Miller’s Captivator, Miller’s Hot Rod, and Miller’s Select Call
Mason Ashburn’s Nosam’s Jail Break and Nosam’s Sweet Water
Larry Smith’s SF Benchmark, SF Saltwater, SF Stetson, and SF Fullcolor
Ric Peterson’s Superstition’s Final Touch, handled by Ike Todd
Joe Worsham’s Worsham Super Sport, handled by Ike Todd
Burke Hendrix’s Hendrix’s Copperline
Bubba Spencer’s Cocklebur X Files and Cocklebur King Tut, handled by Randy Anderson
Matt Cochran’s Forever Wild Reba
Earl Connolly’s Whippoorwill Vette, handled by Larry Huffman
Whippoorwill Ripcord, owned by Dr. Terlep, K. Krause, T. Palmer, and D. McDonald, and handled by Larry Huffman
Will Dunn’s Dunn’s True Reign
Eddie Sholar’s Touch’s Folsum Blues, handled by Ike Todd
Carl Owens’ Caladen’s Yukon Cornelius, handled by Ike Todd


1st: Caladen’s Yukon Cornelius, Ike Todd/Carl Owens
2nd: Ransom’s Jack Flash, Steve Hurdle/Billy Blackwell
3rd: Touch’s Grey Street, Ike Todd/Keith Wright

Go Back »

Photo Gallery

Additional photos from this month's events.


Upcoming events for the next three months.

Media Kit

Advertising rates, display ad dimensions & photo requirements, mission statement & who we are, demographics of readership, and yearly editorial calendar.

Scroll To Top