All content of this website is copyright by Mid-South Horse Review and may not be copied or reprinted without express written consent of the publisher and editor

Call Us: (901) 867-1755

The Mid-South Horse Review is available at over 350 locations throughout Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Arkansas and Kentucky.
June 2021 issue is now available!


Muddy River Classic


Article & photos by Nancy Brannon

[View More Photos]

John Johnson brought his Jx2 Muddy River Classic to the Show Place Arena in Cordova, Tenn. on Valentines weekend, February 14-16, 2020. The event featured USTRC Qualifiers, 2020 WSTR Qualifiers, with saddles awarded to the Average winners and Gist buckles to second and third placers. The Top 5 teams in every division at the Muddy River Classic earned qualifying spots for the 2020 All Star Team Roping Finals in Guthrie, OK, August 5-9, 2020. All in all, the show paid out $198,000 in cash and $20,000 in prizes.

Johnson praised the renovations to the Show Place Arena: “The renovations to the facility were awesome, and I can’t wait to see what it looks like in May!” In March, Jx2 Roping at the Tunica, Miss. arena for the Big Ticket and will be back at the Show Place Arena May 15-17, 2020.

#7 USTRC Winners:
Average- Greg Mahaney/ Billy Griswell
2nd- Brittany Steed/ Dean Laufenberg
3rd- Braiden Friend/ Ryan Shrable

#8.5 USTRC Winners:
Average – Timmy White/ Johnson Yarboro
2nd- Jeana Rudd/ James Carr
3rd- Timmy White/ Casey Martin

#8.4 WSTR Winners:
Brent Taylor/ Whit Ashe

#9.5 USTRC Winners:
Average- Jimmy LaDale White/ Johnson Yarboro
2nd- Logan Espey/ Matt Jarriel
3rd- Lee Burkett/ Tyler Holder

#9.5 WSTR Winners:
Lee Burkett/ Shane Holder

#10.5 USTRC Winners:
Zack Edington/ Lucas Koehn

#10.5 WSTR Winners:
Josh Hamilton/ Brandon Tomlinson

#11.5 USTRC Winners:
Hunter Moody/ Bryan Wood
Jr. Looper Winners:
6 & Under: Tee Paul
7-9: Stetson Holder
10-12: Brayden Hester

#11.5 WSTR Winners:
Clint Copenhaver/ Clay Mitchell

#12.5 USTRC Winners:
Luke Dubois/ Corey Reid

#12.5 WSTR Winners:
Josh King/ Josh Hamby

#13.5 USTRC Winners:
Jacob Watt/ Clay Green

#13.5 WSTR Winners:
Jared Hall/ Jerred Tubbs

#14.5 USTRC Winners:
Rusty Carter/ Douglas Henry

#16.5 USTRC Winners:
Cody Warner/ Cole Curry

#14.5 WSTR Winners:
Rodey Burford/ Douglas Henry

Go Back »

Photo Gallery

Additional photos from this month's events.


Upcoming events for the next three months.

Media Kit

Advertising rates, display ad dimensions & photo requirements, mission statement & who we are, demographics of readership, and yearly editorial calendar.

Scroll To Top