All content of this website is copyright by Mid-South Horse Review and may not be copied or reprinted without express written consent of the publisher and editor

Call Us: (901) 867-1755

The Mid-South Horse Review is available at over 350 locations throughout Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Arkansas and Kentucky.
December issue is now available!


IHSA and IEF Announce 2020 Academic Achievement and Scholarship Award Winners


Fairfield, Conn. – April 16, 2020 – The Intercollegiate Horse Shows Association and Intercollegiate Equestrian Foundation, Inc. is proud to announce and congratulate the 2020 Academic Achievement and Scholarship award winners. Academic achievement awards are presented to those who have earned a 3.5 grade point average (GPA) or above throughout the academic year. Scholarships are awarded to those members who meet eligibility requirements, excel in horsemanship and in the classroom and demonstrate financial need.

The Senior Athletic Academic Achievement Awards are presented to IHSA members who have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher and have been a member of their intercollegiate equestrian team for three years, including their senior year. See the listing of recipients here:

The IHSA recognizes its members who excel academically throughout the year with the All-Academic Awards. Eligibility for the First Team All-Academic Award members must have a cumulative GPA of 3.8 or higher and a 3.5 or higher for the Second Team All-Academic Award.

Included are the following students from Mississippi State University: Jessica Baker, Ashley Beyer, Olivia Cresswell, Hart Daniels, and Victoria Kelson.

From the University of Alabama are: Allison Becker, Karen Fetsch, and Ally Manel.

From the University of Mississippi are: Trinity McCann and Ethan Walker.

From the University of the South are: Sarah Buckholz, Tess Myers, and Elizabeth Westerfeld.

See the full listing of first team recipients here:

Recipients of the Second Team All-Academic Awards include: Savanna Blackburn of Mississippi State University.

From the University of Alabama are: Bailey Brockelbank, Randie Jo Evans, Priya Gilman, Jacqueline Jarrett, Abigayle Kneebone, Breauna Ousley, and Alissa Rios.

From the University of Mississippi are: Lenora Davis, Tessa Yinger, and Robin Young.

From the University of the South are: Catherine Bratton and Siena London.

The full listing of second team all-academic award winners can be found here:

The Teresa McDonald Scholarship Challenge is comprised of a written test and a practicum held at the IHSA National Championships. Due to the unique situation this year, the 2020 awards are presented to the members in each zone with the highest written test scores. One of the recipients in Zone 5 is Anna Wermert from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Find a full listing of the winners here:

The Intercollegiate Equestrian Foundation, Inc. (IEF) scholarships are awarded to undergraduate students who have competed in intercollegiate equestrian activities and are based on criteria including academic achievement, equestrian sport achievement, community service and financial need. Find a list of the IEF Scholarship recipients here:

Find more information about the IHSA at: and more about the IEF at

Go Back »

Photo Gallery

Additional photos from this month's events.


Upcoming events for the next three months.

Media Kit

Advertising rates, display ad dimensions & photo requirements, mission statement & who we are, demographics of readership, and yearly editorial calendar.

Scroll To Top