All content of this website is copyright by Mid-South Horse Review and may not be copied or reprinted without express written consent of the publisher and editor

Call Us: (901) 867-1755

The Mid-South Horse Review is available at over 350 locations throughout Tennessee, Mississippi, Alabama, Arkansas and Kentucky.
June issue is now available!



National Cowgirl Museum Inducts Five Into Hall Of Fame On Friday, November 9, the National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame will induct five new members into its Hall of Fame at the 26th Annual Induction Luncheon at the Worthington Hotel in Fort Worth, Texas. Inducted this year will be: Carol Rose of Texas, a role model and groundbreaker for women in the equine industry; and the mother/daughter team Mollie Stevenson, Sr. and Mollie Stevenson, Jr. of Texas, the first living Afro-American inductees who are being honored because of their dedication to the multi-cultural history of the west. Two of the new honorees are deceased: Evelyn Cameron of Montana, a premier photographer of early pioneer life; and Florence LaDue of Alberta, Canada, a trick and fancy roper. These five new members will make a total of 158 extraordinary women who have been inducted into the Cowgirl Hall of Fame since its inception in 1975. "Every year, we have the honor of learning about and then recognizing the contributions of certain western women who have enriched the cultural lives of us all," said Kit T. Moncrief, President of the National Cowgirls Museum's Board of Directors. "Exactly who will be inducted in any given year is never an easy choice, but one can be certain that our five new honorees are role models who embody the strength, character and courage of the American cowgirl." Now in its 26th year, the National Cowgirl Museum and Hall of Fame is the only museum in the world dedicated to honoring women of the American West who have displayed extraordinary courage and pioneer spirit in their trailblazing efforts. Its archives currently house information about and artifacts from more than 700 remarkable women. The more than 150 Cowgirl Hall of Fame honorees include pioneers, artists, writers, entertainers, humanitarians, businesswomen, educators, ranchers and rodeo cowgirls including: Sacajawea, principal guide for the Lewis and Clark expedition; painter Georgia O'Keeffe; potter Maria Martinez; sharpshooter Annie Oakley; Enid Justin, who created the multi-million dollar Nocona Boot Company; and Hollywood film icon Dale Evans, as well as Alice Van Springsteen, her stunt double. In June 2002, the Cowgirls will open a new 33,000 square-foot museum and hall of fame in the heart of Fort Worth's Cultural District. The new $21 million venue will pay tribute to the great heroines of the American West and will serve as a real home both to the women who helped settle the frontier and to those who continue to live their lives with the grit and determination of the American cowgirl.

Go Back »

Photo Gallery

Additional photos from this month's events.


Upcoming events for the next three months.

Media Kit

Advertising rates, display ad dimensions & photo requirements, mission statement & who we are, demographics of readership, and yearly editorial calendar.

Scroll To Top